Restricting Speech is a Disaster for Democracy

Restricting Speech is a Disaster for Democracy

100 views

Every major social development in our country’s brief history has come about through the freedom to discuss ideas without impunity. In antebellum America, the abolitionist movement found strength in framing slavery as a reprehensible, immoral evil, a narrative that grew in acceptance and established itself as truth after a bloody civil war. The women’s suffrage movement, which began as a small organization, eventually flourished into a massive campaign that secured voting rights through a Constitutional amendment. The Civil Rights movement also came from humble beginnings– after enough people realized the truth of Dr. King’s dream, the Civil Rights Act was signed into law.

Each of these movements initially centered around a vastly unpopular opinion, but given time, they found enough support to be implemented through federal policy. Under the protection of the First Amendment, each controversial idea grew in popularity through rigorous discussion and debate, a symptom of a healthy “marketplace of ideas.” This metaphorical marketplace is a check and balance system in itself– every opinion is subject to the criticism of a contending idea, and people are free to decide which argument is the most cogent.

Obviously, certain types of speech should be prohibited, but these stipulations should never silence an opinion. For example, American legislation formerly restricted speech that posed “a clear or present danger,” and today, it bans speech that promotes “imminent lawless action.” Most other restrictions on speech in the United States nevertheless protect any opinion— no matter how controversial– to be voiced.

The British philosopher John Stuart Mill conveyed the utility of free speech through his claim that if someone cannot disprove an opposing argument, neither opinion can be rationally held by that individual. After all, how can one be convinced of an idea without having considered alternative perspectives? Understanding all arguments and having the capacity to play devil’s advocate fosters a greater understanding of the issues, since it forces people to contend with their own opinions under intellectual scrutiny. Otherwise, as Mill states, if an opinion “is not fully, frequently, and fearlessly discussed, it will be held as a dead dogma, not a living truth.” Without a challenge, these ideas become the de facto “truth” and thus entirely lose all meaning.

Recently, there has been a disturbing trend in developed nations to restrict certain unpopular opinions, posing an enormous threat to solving problems through policy or social change. Many countries in Europe, for example, have strict laws against Holocaust denial. These redesigned laws seek to prevent a resurgence in Nazism by preemptively censoring Nazi ideology. Other laws in Europe similarly restrict expression favorable to Nazism, and these laws even go so far as to ban hate speech and racist rhetoric. However, the question remains: how does banning these unpopular opinions help dissuade potential Nazis from their platforms? And how does this censorship strengthen people’s opinions against Nazism, since their ideas go unchallenged and face the threat of becoming dogma? If lively debate is forbidden between two sides, no idea will establish itself as truth in the minds of the people, since the marketplace of ideas will lack intellectual competition as it is twisted by the law to produce a predetermined perspective.

Aside from doing little to dissuade others of Nazi ideology or to reinforce people’s opinions against Nazism, laws that restrict freedom of opinions also have a tendency to spiral out of control. The South African government is currently considering passing a bill that restricts hate speech and hate crimes, but what constitutes those terms is vague and generally all-encompassing. Some are concerned that this bill could end up putting people in prison simply for voicing “moral issues.” Similarly, a man in the UK was initially jailed and later fined for teaching his dog to perform a Nazi salute as a joke, and in Austria, a man was sentenced to six months in jail simply for owning Nazi-themed wine he found to be amusing. Laws such as these allocate immense, arbitrary power to the government and erode the capacity to voice, or even joke about, unpopular opinions. It is hard to imagine where the United States would be if the government had banned speech pertaining to abolition, women’s suffrage, and civil rights– all unpopular opinions that many held to be dangerous at the time.

Contemporary support for Mill’s philosophies is reflected by the story of Daryl Davis, a black man whose hobby is to befriend members of the Ku Klux Klan. Davis decided meet Klansman in order to challenge their opinions and try to discover why they could hate him without even knowing him. One time, a Klansman told Davis that although Davis was peaceful, he would soon become violent due to a gene within black people. Davis responded that the Klansman must one day become a serial killer, since the majority of serial killers are all white and therefore must have a latent serial killer gene. Five months later, the Klansman left the KKK and handed Davis his robe. To this day, Davis’ friendships with Klan members have chipped away at their racist ideologies, with the result of a black man convincing over two hundred Klansman to rid themselves of their robes. Davis firmly believes that when enemies are talking, they are not fighting, and it is when “the talking ceases that the ground becomes fertile for violence.”

It is essential to recognize the importance of an unfettered marketplace of ideas, especially as the freedom of expression faces such massive threats. Aside from the restrictions in Europe and South Africa, countries such as China, Russia, and likely Saudi Arabia have taken censorship to new lengths, from banning certain websites to making pesky journalists, such as Jamal Khashoggi, “disappear.” Even in the private sector, major tech companies such as Google have toyed with the idea of using their platforms to combat opinions they disagree with. Google also worked directly with a Chinese company to create a censored search engine that would blacklist phrases such “human rights” and “student protest” in China. Regardless of the type of threat, the freedom to voice an opinion– no matter how unpopular– remains an indispensable tenet of democracy increasingly at risk of being erased and in need of protection.

Photo Credit: Censorship, Gerard Van der Leun, © 2006 GERARD VAN DER LEUN SOME RIGHTS RESERVED, licensed by CC BY 2.0

About author

Eric Asen

Eric is a sophomore from Cary, Illinois studying Political Science and Economics. He is interested in the intersection between politics, economics, psychology, and history. During the summer, Eric spends his time running his beekeeping business, and in his free time, Eric enjoys playing foosball, reading history, and vainly attempting to find things do around the suburbs.

Comments
  • adidas gazelle#1

    January 11, 2019

    I as well as my friends happened to be viewing the nice tricks from your web page then all of a sudden got a terrible suspicion I had not thanked the site owner for them. All the men were definitely as a result very interested to see them and now have extremely been tapping into those things. Many thanks for genuinely really thoughtful as well as for opting for this form of awesome useful guides most people are really wanting to be aware of. My very own honest regret for not saying thanks to you sooner.

    Reply
  • hermes outlet online#2

    January 10, 2019

    I simply desired to appreciate you once again. I’m not certain the things I might have worked on without these strategies documented by you over that area. It previously was a very intimidating situation in my position, however , coming across the skilled tactic you treated it forced me to leap with happiness. I am happy for your work and even hope that you are aware of a great job you’re undertaking educating many others by way of your web site. Probably you have never met any of us.

    Reply
  • golden goose outlet#3

    January 9, 2019

    I needed to put you that very small remark in order to thank you so much yet again for these great opinions you’ve contributed here. It is quite unbelievably generous with you to present extensively all a lot of people would’ve offered for sale for an e-book in order to make some dough on their own, specifically considering that you might well have done it if you ever considered necessary. Those inspiring ideas in addition served as a easy way to fully grasp most people have a similar dream like my personal own to find out a little more concerning this issue. I know there are numerous more fun situations up front for those who read through your site.

    Reply
  • yeezy shoes#4

    January 8, 2019

    Thank you so much for providing individuals with such a brilliant chance to read in detail from this blog. It’s usually very excellent and packed with amusement for me personally and my office peers to visit your site at the very least 3 times in 7 days to read the latest guidance you will have. And indeed, we’re usually contented with the outstanding knowledge you serve. Selected 1 points in this article are certainly the very best we have all had.

    Reply
  • yeezy boost 350#5

    January 8, 2019

    Thanks so much for giving everyone a very memorable possiblity to read articles and blog posts from this blog. It’s always very kind and also full of a lot of fun for me and my office fellow workers to visit the blog minimum thrice weekly to read through the latest guides you have. And indeed, I’m just always fascinated concerning the mind-boggling inspiring ideas you give. Certain two facts in this post are undoubtedly the most effective we have ever had.

    Reply
  • adidas nmd r1#6

    January 7, 2019

    My husband and i felt absolutely fulfilled when Emmanuel managed to conclude his reports through your ideas he had through your blog. It is now and again perplexing to simply find yourself making a gift of solutions which often some others may have been making money from. We really discover we have got the writer to be grateful to for that. The specific explanations you have made, the easy blog navigation, the relationships you give support to instill – it’s many amazing, and it’s facilitating our son and the family consider that this subject is awesome, which is pretty indispensable. Many thanks for the whole thing!

    Reply
  • adidas yeezy#7

    January 7, 2019

    My wife and i have been really joyful when Michael could conclude his basic research through your ideas he grabbed from your own blog. It’s not at all simplistic just to choose to be offering techniques other folks have been making money from. So we recognize we have got the website owner to thank because of that. The most important illustrations you made, the easy website navigation, the friendships you can help to foster – it is most fabulous, and it is facilitating our son in addition to our family reckon that the topic is brilliant, and that’s quite indispensable. Thank you for the whole lot!

    Reply
  • michael kors outlet#8

    January 6, 2019

    Thanks a lot for providing individuals with such a spectacular possiblity to read from this website. It is always very enjoyable plus jam-packed with amusement for me personally and my office peers to search your website on the least thrice in 7 days to learn the newest tips you have got. And lastly, I am also at all times astounded with your breathtaking creative concepts served by you. Certain two points in this posting are really the most beneficial we have had.

    Reply
  • air max 270#9

    January 5, 2019

    I want to express some appreciation to you for rescuing me from such a difficulty. Just after searching throughout the internet and coming across ways which were not helpful, I was thinking my life was well over. Being alive minus the answers to the difficulties you’ve solved all through your posting is a crucial case, as well as ones which may have badly damaged my entire career if I hadn’t noticed the website. Your personal training and kindness in dealing with all the pieces was precious. I’m not sure what I would’ve done if I hadn’t encountered such a solution like this. I can also at this point relish my future. Thank you so much for this high quality and effective guide. I won’t think twice to propose your blog to anyone who should have care on this situation.

    Reply
  • adidas ultra#10

    January 4, 2019

    My wife and i were really fulfilled when John could deal with his basic research through the ideas he came across from your very own blog. It’s not at all simplistic to just always be making a gift of hints which the rest have been trying to sell. And we realize we’ve got the blog owner to give thanks to for this. These illustrations you have made, the straightforward web site menu, the friendships you can assist to promote – it’s many extraordinary, and it is aiding our son in addition to us consider that that article is thrilling, which is certainly seriously serious. Many thanks for everything!

    Reply
  • nike air max#11

    January 3, 2019

    I and my pals have been digesting the best tips and tricks found on your website then all of a sudden developed an awful suspicion I never thanked the website owner for those strategies. Most of the women came totally glad to read through all of them and now have undoubtedly been enjoying these things. Appreciation for really being really kind as well as for having such superb useful guides millions of individuals are really needing to understand about. Our honest regret for not expressing gratitude to you earlier.

    Reply
  • adidas eqt support#12

    January 3, 2019

    My wife and i got very glad when Peter managed to conclude his web research while using the ideas he had when using the web page. It’s not at all simplistic to simply always be releasing tips which often people today could have been selling. And we consider we have you to appreciate because of that. All the explanations you made, the simple site navigation, the friendships you will assist to create – it’s all superb, and it’s helping our son and the family do think this subject matter is pleasurable, which is certainly wonderfully vital. Thanks for all the pieces!

    Reply
  • lacoste polo#13

    January 2, 2019

    I actually wanted to send a quick comment in order to say thanks to you for the nice hints you are sharing at this site. My prolonged internet investigation has now been honored with high-quality points to talk about with my family and friends. I would express that many of us visitors are undeniably endowed to be in a really good place with so many perfect professionals with good opinions. I feel extremely privileged to have seen your web page and look forward to some more exciting minutes reading here. Thanks once more for everything.

    Reply
  • adidas nmd#14

    January 2, 2019

    My wife and i have been quite fortunate when Ervin could finish off his research while using the ideas he obtained through the blog. It is now and again perplexing just to happen to be giving for free information that most people could have been selling. We really fully understand we’ve got the writer to thank because of that. The entire illustrations you have made, the simple website navigation, the relationships you help to promote – it’s got most powerful, and it is helping our son and our family reckon that that situation is cool, and that’s highly mandatory. Thanks for the whole lot!

    Reply
  • vans outlet#15

    January 1, 2019

    I wanted to send you this little word in order to thank you very much as before for these fantastic suggestions you’ve contributed here. This has been really shockingly generous with people like you to convey openly what most people could have offered as an e-book to get some profit on their own, specifically given that you might have tried it if you decided. The good ideas likewise served as a fantastic way to fully grasp that other people have similar fervor similar to mine to figure out significantly more with regards to this condition. I know there are thousands of more fun times up front for folks who discover your blog post.

    Reply
  • yeezy shoes#16

    January 1, 2019

    My husband and i felt quite delighted that Louis managed to deal with his basic research while using the precious recommendations he obtained out of your site. It’s not at all simplistic just to choose to be handing out points that many some people might have been selling. And we also discover we have got the writer to give thanks to because of that. The main explanations you made, the easy website navigation, the relationships you make it possible to instill – it’s most awesome, and it’s aiding our son in addition to the family reckon that this topic is pleasurable, which is certainly really pressing. Thanks for the whole thing!

    Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *